luni, 30 august 2010

Album of the week # 4

Slash - Slash 2010

Saul Hudson (born 23 July 1965), better known by his stage name Slash, is a British-American musician. He is the former lead guitarist of the American hard rock band Guns N' Roses, with whom he performed and recorded between 1985 and 1996. He later formed Slash's Snakepit and co-founded Velvet Revolver with his former bandmates Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum, and his debut solo album, Slash, was released in April 2010.

Slash has received critical recognition as a guitarist. In August 2009, Time Magazine ranked him #2 on its list of the "10 Best Electric Guitar Players of All-Time". He was also ranked #21 on Gigwise's list of the "50 Greatest Guitarists Ever".

Slash is the eponymous debut solo album by former Guns N' Roses and current Velvet Revolver guitarist, Slash. The album was produced by Eric Valentine and features multiple musicians including four of the five members of the Appetite for Destruction era Guns N' Roses lineup: Slash, Izzy Stradlin, Duff McKagan and Steven Adler. Vocalist Axl Rose is the only member of that lineup who does not perform on Slash.

On February 4, 2010, Slash announced via a MySpace blog that "Myles Kennedy is going to be fronting the band for the upcoming tour. Something I'm really stoked about. Myles sang a killer track on the record & I think he is by far one of the best Rock & Roll singers out there today. I'm really honored & proud to be working with him." Concert dates and ticket information have not yet currently been released but the guitarist confirmed, via Twitter that he was in talks with England's Download Festival promoter Andy Copping regarding an appearance with Kennedy and the rest of the touring band at the festival. Slash confirmed that he will play his own solo material and songs from Guns N' Roses ("Civil War", "Sweet Child O' Mine," and "Nightrain" among others), Velvet Revolver, and Slash's Snakepit, as well as Alter Bridge material ("Rise Today").
The touring line-up for the upcoming tour, besides Myles Kennedy and himself is Bobby Schneck (Slash's Blues Ball, Aerosmith) on rhythm guitar, Dave Henning (Big Wreck) on bass and Brent Fitz (Alice Cooper) on drums. He then announced via Twitter that Todd Kerns (Age of Electric, Static in Stereo, Sin City Sinners) would be performing bass duties on the tour instead of Dave Henning.
Slash performed "By the Sword" on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno on April 6, and on The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson on April 9. While performing the song on Jay Leno's show, Slash was wearing an "I'm With Coco" pin, to show support for former Tonight Show host Conan O'Brien. There are very few close-ups of Slash during the song, but TMZ caught one second where the pin was displayed on camera. Slash also played "By the Sword" on Lopez Tonight on April 9, 2010 and performed "Back from Cali" on the show on April 12. Slash and Adam Levine performed "Gotten" on The Ellen DeGeneres Show on May 11.

Upon release, Slash entered the Billboard 200 charts at number 3 (also at number one on the Rock, Hard Rock, Digital and the Independent Albums Chart) with 61,000 copies sold during the first week. The album also debuted at number one in Canada, Austria, New Zealand and Sweden while it also broke into the top 20 in Germany, Finland, Australia, France, Norway, Poland and Switzerland.
The album's first single, "By the Sword" (feat. Andrew Stockdale) peaked at number 41 on the Rock Songs Chart and number 78 on the Canadian Hot 100. "Beautiful Dangerous" (feat. Fergie) charted at number 11 and number 58 on the Heatseekers Songs and Canadian Hot 100. The cover of "Paradise City" (feat. Fergie & Cypress Hill) also charted on the Canadian Hot 100 at number 75.
The album has received generally mixed reviews, scoring a 54 out of 100 ("mixed or average reviews") on Metacritic. MTV News Writer Kyle Anderson called the album "a tremendous collection of hard rock songs that center around the axe man's signature chunky, swirling riffs.... On balance, it's an excellent album, and it feels good to have that classic Slash sound back." Writer Shelby Powell took note of Slash's precision on guitar, rating the album 3.5/5 thumbs, but took off points for "a little too much reverence paid to the 90’s and some of the feature selections may have old head purists poking their bottom lips out and putting their lighters down," but concludes that "the assortment of genres blends well."
As of the summer of 2010, the tour has been promoted as "Slash featuring Myles Kennedy".

Track listing:

> Ghost
> Crucify The Dead
> Beautiful Dangerous
> Back From Cali
> Promise
> By The Sword
> Gotten
> Doctor Alibi
> Watch This
> I Hold On
> Nothing To Say
> Starlight
> Saint Is A Sinner Too
> We`re All Gonna Die


3 comentarii:

  1. imi place ca mai prezinti albumele recent scoase de marile nume ale muzicii. uneori mai ma pisca curiozitatea si ascult. ai gusturi foarte frumoase.

  2. merci merci
    ce sa zic, auditie placuta atunci ;)

  3. nu stiu cum face omul asta, dar a scos albumul undeva in primavara si eu inca il ascult ca si cum abia l-as fi luat :)) you know..e ceva similar cu un copil care-si cumpara o jucarie noua si crede ca-i noua si dupa 15 ani...